FM16: “The Academics” – part XXIII – European Golden Boy

Hi everyone, I had not much time to play from the last update which you can find here but I was able to finish the first part of the 2029/2030 season with AB recently. And there is one thing I want to share with you despite I did not finish the whole season and this is not the standard one season update. Nevermind.

One my player became European Golden Boy what is huge achievement not only for him but also for our club and maybe for the whole Denmark.

the academics hansen

If you follow my saves or my posts on Twitter you surely know that I often play with very young players and I’m always happy to play with “outsiders”. I do not search players primarily by “stars” rating. I always look on the attributes that are key for the each role.

I had Frederik Kristensen as my key player and he played as right wide playmaker. He was absolutely fantastic player, scored many goals and made many assists. He moved to Bayern Münich recently and I had to select his successor.

I chose Martin Hansen. I bought this boy in summer 2027 when he was 17 for £27.5K from Aarhus.

Honestly, I was not 100% sure he will be star player. I described his arrival as “another younster” in this part about youngsters.

This is him in June 2027

Martin Hansen_ Overview Profile

…this is Martin Hansen in December 2028, just after one and half year and less than 30 league matches…

Martin Hansen_ Overview Profile-2

…and this is Martin in January 2030, two and half years after his arrival to the club. He played 71 matches in domestic league and cup and also in european competitions. He scored 22 goals and made 10 assists.

His average rating – 2027/2028 – 7.62 | 2028/2029 – 7.9 | 2029/2030 (1st half of the season) – 7.87.

Martin Hansen_ Overview Profile

At the end of the November 2029, just only few days before the last match of the calendar year I received mail that Martin is one of the contenders to win the European Golden Boy award. There were also Neil Paterson, our young midfielder from Scotland.

c31c6782c35109a8c2f38d20004485f8

The first day of the new calendar year I received the results. Martin Hansen has won it! He played 31 matches, scored 11 goals and he had average rating of 7.81.

6c06cdc7c24ba2d98878abb35c597fc3

The 2029 was year to remember for this player. He also won Danish Media Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Superliga Player of the Year and he made his Denmark Senior national team debut. He was also named in 2030 Danish Team of the Year…

e049fe24477ad490908fd011fe936f9d

His value rised to £7M during the last two and half years, his attributes improved a lot and despite all my coaches report that he “could have real problems with injuries” he was injured only three times during his stay with our club.

He was also linked with some much bigger clubs around the whole world but he signed a new contract with us. Firstly until 2031 and during the 2029/2030 season he signed a new contract until 2034 -> £15,5K per week, £2,1K apperance Fee and £1,7K Goal Bonus.

Statistics from the first half of the 2029/2030 season…

Martin Hansen_ Reports Stats



As I wrote on twitter, I don’t need to win another trophies. This is one of the best highlight of this save and this is why I love Football Manager.


Thanks for reading, @KeysiRensie

Leave a Reply

