Time flies…

Hello everyone, just only some thoughts from me, not the traditional post about my FM17 save. As I was a guest in the Deep Lying Podcast I had time to think about my past associated with football manager games.

I asked George if I should prepare something before recording. He just only said he will ask me a bit about my background. And I had some time during the Thursday’s lunch to think about it.

I know there are many of you who play the CM/FM for a longer time than me but I decided to put some of my CM/FM background to paper. If you get bored just close the browser tab ;)

championship_manager_-_season_97-98_coverartI started to play manager games at the end of the nineties when I discovered Championship Manager. I think the first one was 97/98 when my friend from the school got it with his first PC.

He was the first who had the PC in our class so once upon a time about ten kids were in flat of his parents. I think it was one of the reasons why they divorced later as my friend’s father wanted to play games with us – 11 years old kids.

I did not have my own PC as my parents had not enough funds to buy it. But my uncle had. And he loved the Premier Manager 99. And we played a lot.

We always tried to play just only two clubs – AC Sparta Prague and AC Milan. If it would be possible to have Marco van Basten at all posts in the line-up my uncle would put him there as it was his hero. I was enough happy to play with Horst Siegl…

There was also manager called Czech Soccer Manager. I think it’s still free game available to download. It’s very easy and fast game and you were able to play 15 seasons per day as it was really fast game.

Not detailed as Football Manager but you were able to build a stadium, manage ticket prices and many more things. It was fun to win Champions League with Czech second tier club in the third or fourth season.

screen6

There was also another one manager game but I can’t remember the name of it. Same as with Premier Manager 99 I played this other game with my uncle and I really hope we will be able to find it somewhere what the game it was.

I never was too much FIFA or PES player. I owned Xbox and PS in some time of my life but I sold both because I always rather played Football Manager. I think this will remain same in the future.

When I was older and my father bought the first proper PC I started to play Championship Manager once again so I remember all versions from 2000. I always like to remember one story about my beginnings with CM.

As you have a player, competition or club ID number in the game and you can hide it in the preferences I always installed the game and set something in the preferences. I now know it was this.

I always ticked the “Show screen IDs in Title Bar to assist skinning”. But I did not want to have it in the game as I was unable to see the player position or age and the club in the older version because the ID replaced it.

I remember I spent almost whole afternoon with reinstalling the game to unhide this ID because I don’t like it. I did not play the match or buy some players, just only was trying to have a game without ID’s.

But everyone somehow begins…

tumblr_mg3y3cm49m1s0gra5o1_500

I think it was around 2005 when first Football Manager was released after the Eidos/Sports Interactive split. I bought my first own laptop and I found there is FM community in the Czech republic.

There was a website called web.manazery.cz and I became a member of this site. It was mainly forum with save stories, tactics articles but we talked about the common things in our life as well.

I remember the save in FM 2006 or FM 2007 when I played for York City and I won the promotion from the Conference to the Premier League in seven years and they sacked me after we finished 13th in the PL in the first season. So I went to AS Roma for a couple of season, won everything with them and York was back in the League One when I resigned from Roma job. It was easy to get back to York and win the Premier League with them during the next couple of years…

I would compare it to the Dugout website which most of you know. There were hundreds of FM players and it was very good for interaction. I became an admin during next years but the website does not exist now as almost all the people lost interest in the site and FM as well.

So we started a new website with forum around 2010 I think and I was an owner of this site for a couple of years. During this time I also started to discover FM community around the world. I began to use Twitter more and shared articles from our site to it but there was almost no feedback because of the Czech language.

I had some great saves during the Football Manager time including game with my local town club (TJ Sokol Libiš) for example as I started in Czech fourth tier and make this small club Czech champions with some players  who I know from the real life. Or with Dijon FCO in FM11…and many more.

f_1lre_8f6_u7jr7

Raphaël Cacérès – my FM11 hero in save with Dijon FCO

But interest was lesser and lesser at our site/forum and I had feeling I write everything unnecessarily. I decided to step down as owner of this site and I decided to start write in English as I wanted to be part of the community and talk with others about the game more than only in phrase „It’s hame you don’t write in English – Yes, I know“ and sad smiley at the end of the reply.

I created my own blog and translated some guides which I wrote in the past in Czech. It was during the FM15 time when I played the save with Spartans FC in Scotland.

So it’s almost two years now when I decided to start writing in different language. I’m not the star of the FM community, my English is not as good as I would like but I’m glad I’m part of it as I think I found there a lot of good people and some of them I consider as friends of mine.

If I would not started to write in English I would not have option to write for The Higher Tempo Press for example.

From the April 2015 I published 117 posts and I have around 490k views on my blog until today what is absolutely fantastic. Thank you all.

If you listened or you will listen the Deep Lying Episode with me you will find I work for AC Sparta Prague in real life in PR Department. I have to say it was very funny when some of real life footballers found I play Football Manager a lot and they read some of my articles on the blog during training camps in the past and they came to me for some help with their tactic and other things in FM.

Time from time they still write me for some advice and despite some of them are no longer in Sparta we stayed in touch thanks to Football Manager.

The Deep Plying Podcast with me it’s there ↓. If you can’t understand something let me know and I will translate it from my “Czenglish”…


Thanks for reading, @KeysiRensieCome and join the conversation in Slack.


PS.

If I don’t write new article in some time it will probably be because of this little monster who is my best FM assistant manager in the last two and half years…

img_0613

One thought on “Time flies…

Leave a Reply

