Fredensborg – Where it’s getting harder to stay.

A long dark winter has passed but this time it’s been a very busy one. Having spent the previous mid-season break absconded in my flat watching the windows ice up on the inside,eW I decided to spend this one travelling.

I have taken in games all over the globe, from a Super Classico in Argentina to a South coast derby between Plymouth and Portsmouth. It’s been a fun few months and along with completing my National A Licence I have become somewhat a wanted man.

The British press have linked me with every job going from Greenock Morton to Plymouth Argyle. But it didn’t stop there, throughout the winter months I have been offered interviews at Falkirk, Kilmarnock, Notts County, Mansfield, Southend United, Coventry, Sheffield United, Grimsby Town and Wycombe. All were rejected by myself, I hadn’t achieved anything here yet.

Pre-season went well, we played 8 games in 4 weeks as once again the boys match fitness levels were terrible. We arranged to play small teams from Sweden and Norway all at home and 7 out of the 8 ended in victories.

When the league campaign resumed we picked off where we left off…

Fredensborg 2-0 FC Sydvest

FC Sydvest are the first league game of the campaign and we will be without talisman Alfred Austin who suffered an injury during the last friendly. 4 mins in and we give away a penalty which is thankfully tipped around the post by Larsen.

Tobias Thomsen, a new recruit is Austins replacement and by half time he has scored his first two goals for the club. It wasn’t a clear cut game in fact Sydvest caused us more problems than I expected but we are back under way and a win is a win.

Middlefart 0-3 Fredensborg

After a 2 week break and a couple more friendlies the boys are slowly getting back to match sharpness. This time we travelled to Middlefart and proved too strong for them with goals from Mayasi, Thomsen and a OG wrapping up a 3-0 win.

Frednesborg 3-0 Dalum

Comfortable but not great. We won the game and the scoreline looks convincing but a better side would have punished us today. I brought Austin back in after his injury which didn’t go down too well with Tobias Thomsen. The new signing had made a great impact but my loyalty was to Austin and he returned. 

After losing his place in the first team I dropped Tobias Thomsen into the reserves to up his match fitness where he went on to bag 5 goals in just under an hour. Message well and truly received.

First 3 after break

So our form has carried on where it left off. This side put together with free transfers and youth prospects are too good for this level. I know this could come back to bite me but there seems to be nothing to stop us now and it should be just a matter of time before our name is on that title.

squad

Then I got a call from an agent claiming to represent Massimo Celino at Leeds United. Now being a Yorkshireman I know just how big a club Leeds is BUT I’m from Barnsley and I wasn’t sure I could make that move. The deal intrigued me though so I agreed to meet the President and see what he had to say. He was charming, he flew to Copenhagen and we dined at the best restaurant in town. We talked about budgets and how to resurrect the current plight Leeds found themselves in (20th in Championship). When he left I said I had to see the season out here in Denmark, I owed it to the players and the fans, all 98 of them. He nodded and left.

leeds offer

 

Leave a Reply

